Hi {RAND} - Facebook Virus?

Posted on Monday, June 29 by Jill

Bookmark and Share


What's up with these two messages I found in my Facebook inbox this morning? Is this some new virus?

Both are addressed to "Hi {RAND}" and have multiple recipients listed. Both contain a single URL followed by a 5-digit number as the message, but the URLs -- and the numbers -- are different. One message reads

bulitre.com (55355)

The other reads

junfunrun.com (95337)

Neither of the URLs is set up as a link so if you did want to check out the pages you would have to type in the address. That combined with the {RAND} in the greeting suggests this is a pretty clumsy attack. Somebody didn't test their code I guess.

On the other hand, I did receive two of these things already, one sent at close to 1 am this morning (Monday June 29) from a California based-user. The other was sent at 10:30 this morning from a Toronto-based Facebooker. So it does seem like this thing is spreading.

If anyone has more info, I'd love to hear it.

**UPDATE**

From Robert McMillan at CSO Security and Risk:

Facebook users are getting private messages from firends this morning containing the words Hi (Rand) and a link to a Web page.

Not surprisingly, this is a scam. In fact the link takes you to a Web site that attacks your computer.

Roger Thompson, Chief Research Officer with AVG Technologies say's the attack appears to be based on the Luckysploit toolkit, which throws a big whack of different attacks -- IE, Adobe, etc -- at your browser. If you're not fully patched, then it installs a rootkit on your PC.

I've seen a message that includes a link to the bulitre. com (don't go to these domains, they will attack you) and in Twitter messages Facebook users also mention the domain junfunrun . com. (which shares the same IP address).

Comments

Leave a Comment

  1. By thomas June 29, 2009 @ 07:51 PM
    any word on whether this affects PCs and Macs or just PCs?
  2. By Kay June 30, 2009 @ 01:27 AM
    So, how do we fix it?
  3. By Florian Wardell June 30, 2009 @ 02:41 AM
    I just noticed two of these messages have been sent from my fb account. I'm using a mac, with safari. I would really like to know how to prevent that, it's embarrassing. I changed my password, but I doubt it will help.
  4. By thomas June 30, 2009 @ 03:32 AM
    Florian, can you tell us more about what you did? Did you go to junfunrun.com?
  5. By Zifnab06 June 30, 2009 @ 02:46 PM
    It shouldn't do much to you if you don't visit it. It probably only effects windows (as most viruses do). If someone sends you one of these, tell them they were hacked and ask them to change their password. There's a group called "Facebook Security". Its open, and has a bunch of hints on how to keep your facebook from being hacked, and how to keep it safe.
Comment


Clicky Web Analytics